Skip to main content

The 2023 Faculty Election was held from March 29-April 12. Dr. Beth Moracco, professor of health behavior in the Gillings School of Global Public Health, was elected to be the next chair of the faculty, succeeding current chair, Mimi Chapman. All of this year’s election results can be found at this link [HTML]

Each spring, the Office of Faculty Governance conducts an election for faculty to select their representatives on the Faculty Council as well as to vote for members to serve on a variety of faculty committees. This year’s ballot included candidates for the next chair of the faculty.

In advance of each election, all members of the voting faculty are sent a link to a Faculty Governance Interest Survey. This year’s survey was open through Monday, January 30. Learn more at this link.

Voting eligibility and process

Please see Faculty Code ยง 1-4 for information on eligibility for voting.

All members of the voting faculty receive an email with an individualized link to the balloting survey on the day the election opens.

To vote, simply click link to your ballot and proceed through the pages to make your selections for each race for which you are eligible to vote. (The ballot will only offer you the positions for which you are eligible to vote.) At the end, hit “submit,” and your vote will be registered.

If you believe you are eligible to vote but do not receive (or cannot find) your ballot, please contact our office at


Print Friendly, PDF & Email