Skip to main content

About the Secretary of the Faculty

As stated by Section 3-2 of the Faculty Code, the secretary of the faculty has the following responsibilities:

  • To keep minutes of all meetings of the General Faculty and of the Faculty Council;
  • To conduct all elections of the General Faculty and the Faculty Council;
  • To conduct correspondence pertaining to elections and actions of the two faculty bodies;
  • To maintain files of all nominations and citations for honorary degrees and special awards; and
  • To maintain records of the charge, membership, and duration of all committees about which (s)he is notified.

The secretary serves ex officio as a member of Faculty Council, the Agenda Committee, the Advisory Committee, the Faculty Executive Committee, the Committee on University Government, the Nominating Committee, the Honorary Degrees and Special Awards Committee, the Commencement Committee, the Commencement Speaker Selection Committee, and the University Day Committee.

The secretary’s office was established at the University’s founding and its incumbent was responsible for keeping student records until 1886. The role has been revised over time.

The secretary serves a five-year term and is eligible for re-election. The Advisory Committee nominates one member of the voting faculty for the position. After an opportunity for additional nominations from the floor has been given, the Faculty Council elects the secretary of the faculty.

Current Secretary of the Faculty: Jill D. Moore

Photo by Jon Gardiner/UNC-Chapel Hill

Jill D. Moore is an associate professor of public law and government in the School of Government. An alumna, she received a BSPH and MPH in Health Behavior and Health Education from our public health school and a JD with high honors from the school of law. Professor Moore joined the Carolina faculty in 1997 and was elected secretary of the faculty in 2021.

With a background in both law and public health, her work focuses on North Carolina public health law, especially legal issues surrounding communicable disease control, adolescent health, local health department organization and governance, and medical privacy. She is the author of North Carolina Communicable Disease Law (2017), a regular contributor to the School of Government’s Coates’ Canons Local Government Law Blog, and maintains a website [HTML] devoted to N.C. public health law.

Professor Moore coordinates and teaches continuing education courses and conferences for North Carolina local health directors, local health department employees, and other state and local government officials with an interest in applied public health law. She has been a member of the Faculty Council since 2017 and has served on several faculty governance committees, including the Grievance Committee (which she chaired), the Faculty Welfare Committee and the Committee on the Status of Women.

Professor Moore may be reached at (919) 962-7609 or

Read an interview with Prof. Moore featured in The Well at this link.

Previous Secretaries of the Faculty

1823-1825Joseph Hubbard Saunders
1825George Shonnard Bettner
1826Edward Dromgoole Sims
1826Oliver Woolcott Treadwell
1826-1827John Jenkins Wyche
1827John T. Williams
1827-1828Silas Milton Andrews
1828-1829Lorenzo Lea
1829-1831Thompson Bird
1831-1832Henry Grantham Smith
1832John DeBerniere Hooper
1832-1836David W. McAllister
1836-1844William Henry Owen
1844-1847Charles Force Deems
1847-1856Ashbel G. Brown
1856-1866Solomon Pool
1866-1868Charles Phillips
1868-1869Fisk P. Brewer
1869-1870James A. Martling
1870Fisk P. Brewer
1870-1871Alexander McIver
1875-1877George Tayloe Winston
1877-1879Carey D. Grandy
1881-1883Robert Paine Pell
1883-1885Willie Thomas Patterson
1885-1886Joshua Walker Gore
1886-1889James Lee Love
1889-1891Walter Dallam Toy
1891-1896Joshua Walker Gore
1896-1898Collier Cobb
1898-1932Walter Dallam Toy
1932-1934Robert Burton House
1934-1945Thomas James Winston, Jr.
1945-1955Almonte Charles Howell
1955-1956Earl Horace Hartsell (Acting)
1956-1962Almonte Charles Howell
1962-1963Cecil Slaton Johnson (Acting)
1963-1966Almonte Charles Howell
1966-1969Clifford Pierson Lyons
1969-1984Henry Charles Boren
1984-1987Richard William Pfaff
1987-1990Laurence G. Avery
1991-1996George S. Lensing
1996-2016 Joseph S. Ferrell
2016-2021Vincas P. Steponaitis
Print Friendly, PDF & Email