Skip to main content

The results of the 2015 faculty elections are in!  Congratulations to all those elected, and many thanks to everyone who volunteered to run for all offices and all of the voters who took time to cast ballots.

Voter turnout

For the regular faculty elections, valid ballots were issued via email to 3443 voting-eligible members of the faculty.  1553 voters cast ballots, for a turnout rate of 45.1%, the second best rate since our record-keeping on turnout percentages began in 1997.

The retired faculty ballot was issued to 565 eligible voters, with 187 casting ballots (a 33.1% turnout).

Full voter turnout results by voter division and some comparative data for prior years are provided below the election results.

Elections results

The elections results below list the candidates in order from most to least votes received.

Those listed as elected will take office July 1, 2015 for a three-year term ending June 30, 2018. There is an expectation that you will attend all meetings of the body to which you have been elected unless prevented for good cause. There is no procedure for designating a substitute for less than one semester. There is also no procedure for voting by proxy or in absentia. If you plan to resign from the University, retire, or go on leave for one semester or longer, please inform the Office of Faculty Governance.

Alternates were not elected, but may be called upon to serve in the future should a temporary or permanent vacancy arise on the committee for which you were a candidate.  In those cases, the Secretary of the Faculty fills the vacancy by appointing the first alternate in the most recent election for that position.

Chancellor's Advisory Committee (Vote for 3)
Herring, AmyElected
Kramer, LloydElected
Cuadros, PaulElected
Taylor, BeverlyAlternate
Alexander, RumayAlternate
Hirschfield, JamesAlternate
Committee on Appointments, Promotions, and Tenure: Arts and Sciences (Vote for 2)
Perkins, KathyElected
Conway, PatrickElected
McReynolds, LouiseAlternate
Padua, DarinAlternate
Thompson, JamesAlternate
Nzongola-Ntalaja, GeorgesAlternate
Committee on Appointments, Promotions, and Tenure: Professional Schools other than Medicine (Vote for 1)
Barksdale, DebraElected
Lang, MarkAlternate
Davison, PatrickAlternate
Committee on Appointments, Promotions, and Tenure: School of Medicine (Vote for 1)
Gehrig, PaolaElected
Hooper, StephenAlternate
Tisch, RolandAlernate
Kawula, ThomasAlternate
Educational Policy Committee (Vote for 3)
Loeb, JeannieElected
Avilez, GershunElected
Garcia, DavidElected
Vaidyanathan, GeethaAlternate
Schoenfisch, MarkAlternate
Metcalfe, JasonAlternate
Hughes, SherickAlternate
Spinner-Halev, JeffAlternate
Faculty Assembly Delegation (Vote for 1)
Ammerman, AliceElected
Boettiger, CharlotteAlternate
Ives, TimothyAlternate
Lundberg, ChristianAlternate
Faculty Athletics Committee (Vote for 3)
Perrin, AndrewElected
Mosley, LaynaElected
Johnson, DaryhlElected
Prinstein, MitchellAlternate
Lindquist, JosefaAlternate
Austell, ToddAlternate
Oehler, DonaldAlternate
Faculty Executive Committee (Vote for 4)
Chapman, MimiElected
Cox, WendyElected
Perelmuter, RosaElected
Joyner, BennyElected
Mohanty, SuchiAlternate
Assani, IdrisAlternate
Faculty Grievance Committee: Fixed-Term (Vote for 1)
Kumar, PriyaElected
Salinas, OscarAlternate
Faculty Grievance Committee: Assistant Professors (Vote for 1)
Vigil, ArianaElected
Alamo, JuanAlternate
Faculty Grievance Committee: Associate Professors (Vote for 1)
McLaughlin, ChristopherElected
Dillman Carpentier, FrancescaAlternate
Ripley, ErikaAlternate
Nackley, AndreaAlternate
Faculty Grievance Committee: Full Professors (Vote for 1)
Rousch, ChristopherElected
Akos, PatrickAlternate
Faculty Hearings Committee (Vote for 2)
Belger, AysenilElected
Aikat, DebElected
Howell, CherylAlternate
Melehy, HassanAlternate
Unah, IsaacAlternate
Financial Exigency and Program Change Committee: Division of Academic Affairs (Vote for 2)
Conway, PatrickElected
Copenhaver, GregoryElected
Nerkar, AtulAlternate
Quercia, RobertoAlternate
Financial Exigency and Program Change Committee: Division of Health Affairs (Vote for 2)
Parise, LeslieElected
Palmer, MaryElected
Passannante, AnthonyAlternate
Honorary Degrees and Special Awards Committee (Vote for 2)
Shields, TanyaElected
Cannon, SharonElected
Ashby, ValerieAlternate
Heitsch, FabianAlternate
Administrative Board of the Library: Fine Arts and Humanities Representative (Vote for 1)
Kim, HeidiElected
Tanner, JessicaAlternate
Bettin, JadeAlternate
Administrative Board of the Library: Natural Sciences and Mathematics Representative (Vote for 1)
Vision, ToddElected
Churukian, AliceAlternate
Stotts, Paul (David)Alternate
Administrative Board of the Library: Social Sciences Representative (Vote for 1)
Crescenzi, MarkElected
Balaban, RitaAlternate
Adel, ShahlaAlternate
Arts and Sciences Advisory Committee: Fine Arts (Vote for 1)
Klebanow, SusanElected
Sherman, DanielAlternate
Arts and Sciences Advisory Committee: Social Sciences (Vote for 1)
McNeil, Genna RaeElected
Shanahan, MichaelAlternate
Song, CongheAlternate
Faculty Council, Division 2 (College of Arts and Sciences, Humanities) Tenured (Vote for 1)
Neta, RamElected
Faculty Council, Division 2 (College of Arts and Sciences, Humanities) Non-Tenured (Vote for 1)
Estigarribia, BrunoElected
Megel, JosephAlternate
Faculty Council, Division 3 (College of Arts and Sciences, Natural Sciences and Mathematics) Non-tenured (Vote for 1)
Wallace, ColinElected
Mihalik, JohnaAlternate
Malekoff, RobertAlternate
Faculty Council, Division 4 (College of Arts and Sciences, Social Sciences) Tenured (Vote for 1)
Babb, FlorenceElected
Li, WendanAlternate
Hill JonathanAlternate
Faculty Council, Division 4 (College of Arts and Sciences, Social Sciences) Non-tenured (Vote for 1)
Osterweil, MichalElected
Tasar, ErenAlternate
Zhou, YiAlternate
Faculty Council, Division 5 (University Libraries) (Vote for 1)
Sexton, JillElected
McBride, ReneeAlternate
Vandermeer, PhilipAlternate
Faculty Council, Division 8 (School of Education) Tenured (Vote for 1)
Hall, LeighElected
Sawyer, KeithAlternate
Faculty Council, Division 8 (School of Education) Non-tenured (Vote for 1)
Thompson Dorsey, DanaElected
Scott, CatherineAlternate
Faculty Council, Division 10 (School of Law) Non-tenured (Vote for 1)
Savasta-Kennedy, MariaElected
Posner, BethAlternate
Faculty Council, Division 13 (School of Medicine) Tenured (Vote for 2)
Mauro, MatthewElected
Thorpe, DeborahElected
Wang, AndrewAlternate
Jones, SamuelAlternate
Faculty Council, Division 13 (School of Medicine) Non-tenured (Vote for 6)
Joyner, BennyElected
Gilchrist, MichaelElected
Kang, MiaElected
Platts-Mills, TimothyElected
Nelson, AmandaElected
Levine, AmyElected
Moon, TaraAlternate
Kreda, SilviaAlternate
Cramer, LorraineAlternate
Ivanovic, MarijaAlternate
Temitope, KekuAlternate
Faculty Council, Division 18 (Retired Faculty)
Howes, JonathanElected
Pukkila, PatriciaAlternate
Print Friendly, PDF & Email