Skip to main content

2023 Faculty Election

Deb Aikat

Running for: Honorary Degrees and Special Awards Committee
  • Associate Professor
  • Hussman School of Journalism and Media
  • Appointed: 1995
  • PhD, Ohio University
  • Candidate Website
UNC Service

As a Carolina faculty for 28 years, I have experienced the joys, trials and tribulations of academic leadership in eight faculty governance committees:
* Honorary Degrees & Special Awards, 2020-23
* Faculty Executive Committee, 2016-22
* Faculty Hearings, 2015-21
* Education Policy, 2005-07
* Faculty Council, 2014- 2022
* Fixed-Term Faculty Committee, 2014-15
* Faculty Council Agenda, 2017-18
* Honor Court’s Faculty Hearings, 2014-present
Motivated by collegial collaboration, I cherish working with colleagues from diverse disciplines at Carolina. I commend our Faculty Council for fostering shared governance at the heart of Carolina.

Candidate Statement

Journalist Charles Kuralt famously called Carolina as the “University of the People.” UNC’s role as the University of the People has endured despite controversies relating to Silent Sam, race, gender, and free speech.
We, the faculty, are the thriving embodiment of the “University of the People” that binds us all. We inspire excellence among dedicated faculty peers, talented students, and loyal alumni.
I feel honored, and humbled to be nominated to serve a second term on this important committee. I will focus on three goals:
* Uphold our commitment to equity and integrity
* Pursue excellence, accountability and transparency
* Sustain the Tar Heel spirit and joie de vivre.
In my 28th year as a journalism and media faculty in Carolina, I am privileged to have among the best preparation possible to serve on this important committee.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email