Skip to main content

About the award

When presented: At a Faculty Council meeting each year. The 2023-24 Award will be presented at a fall Faculty Council meeting.

How many: One award

Process: Nominations may be submitted by any member of the UNC-CH faculty. The Thomas Jefferson Award is presented by the Chancellor on recommendation of the faculty’s Honorary Degrees and Special Awards Committee .

Establishing documentJefferson Regulation

Criteria: The Thomas Jefferson Award was established in 1961 by the Robert Earll McConnell Foundation. It is presented annually to “that member of the academic community who through personal influence and performance of duty in teaching, writing, and scholarship has best exemplified the ideals and objectives of Thomas Jefferson,” whose complex legacy includes the values of democracy, public service, and the pursuit of knowledge.

Eligibility: Any active member of the faculty is eligible, including those who are participating in the phased-retirement program.

Submit a nomination

Please note that nominations remain active for three years. If you have nominated anyone within the previous two years, renomination is not required; however, additional or updated materials may be submitted.

Please visit the “Submit Nominations” page at the left for instructions on how to submit your nomination. Nominations for the 2024 Thomas Jefferson Award will be accepted January 9 through April 2, 2024.

Past recipients, 1962-present

2023Michael Gerhardt
2023Patricia Parker: Citation | Awardee's remarks
2022Geoffrey Sayre-McCord
2021Lloyd Kramer: Citation | Awardee's remarks
2020Ada Adimora
2019John McGowan
2018Connie Eble
Sue Estroff
2017Alice S. Ammerman
2016S. Elizabeth Gibson
2015William L. Andrews
2014Joseph Templeton
2013Gene Nichol
2012Joy Kasson
2011George Sheldon
2010John Parkhill “Jack” Evans
2009George Lensing, Jr.
2008H. Shelton Earp
2007Stephen Fredrick Weiss
2006Michael A. Stegman
2005Madeline G. Levine
2004Charles E. Daye
2003Joseph S. Ferrell
2002Charles S. Stone Jr.
2002Ruel W. Tyson Jr.
2001Royce W. Murray
2000Lawrence I. Gilbert
2000Beverly Long
1999Doris Waugh Betts
1998Stuart Bondurant
1997Donald Jicha
1996Raymond Dawson
1995James L. Peacock III
1994Harry Gooder
1993[No award]
1992Frank Wilson, Jr.
1991Ernest L. Eliel
1990Mary Ellen Jones
1989William B. Blythe
1988John L. Sanders
1987Richard J. Richardson
1986Frederick P. Brooks, Jr.
1985John Charles Morrow III
1984Janet J. Fischer
1984Newton D. Fischer
1983George A. Kennedy
1983Cecil G. Sheps
1982Daniel H. Pollitt
1981Richard H. Fogle
1980William F. Little
1979Lyle V. Jones
1978Walter S. Spearman
1977J. Dickson Phillips
1976Joseph C. Sloane
1975C. Hugh Holman
1974Daniel T. Young
1973Daniel A. Okun
1972Eugen Merzbacher
1971E. Maynard Adams
1970Frederic N. Cleveland
1969Charles B. Robson
1968Dougald MacMillan
1967William B. Aycock
1966William L. Wiley
1965Fletcher M. Green
1964Henry P. Brandis, Jr.
1963Rupert B. Vance
1962Maurice T. Van Hecke
Print Friendly, PDF & Email