Professor Michael Gerhardt

2023-24 Thomas Jefferson Award recipient

Remarks by Bill Marshall. Professor of Law Award presented at Faculty Council, January 19, 2024

I am deeply honored to introduce Michael Gerhardt in recognition of his being awarded the Thomas Jefferson Award.

Professor Gerhardt has devoted his career to the study and the service of the democratic ideals that motivated Thomas Jefferson. His accomplishments as a scholar and as a participant at the highest levels of government actively shaping those ideals have been extraordinary.

Gerhardt has authored the leading and most timely works on some of the most critical constitutional law issues facing our Nation — including books on the federal appointments process, the federal impeachment process, and the role of precedent in American Law. His book, *The Forgotten Presidents* was cited as one of the best non-fiction books of 2013. Most recently, Gerhardt published an acclaimed historical work on the mentors who influenced the career of Abraham Lincoln, a book that the Wall Street Journal described as 'original and insightful.'

Gerhardt's record of national public service is equally impressive. He has served as a special counsel to the Senate Judiciary Committee for the nominations of eight of the nine sitting Supreme Court Justices. He has testified more than 20 times before Congress. He is the Principal Consultant to the Library of Congress for coordinating revisions to the official United States Constitution. He is Scholar in Residence & Director of Content at the National Constitution Center in Philadelphia.

As if that were not enough, Gerhardt has also become one of the most prominent and important voices in our Nation's public discourse — publishing countless essays and op-eds in national publications and appearing countless times in national media. He is as close as a Constitutional Law academic can be to becoming a household name.

By any measure, Professor Gerhardt is one of the most eminent Constitutional Law authorities in the Nation. He will bring continued distinction to the Thomas Jefferson Award.