Skip to main content

About the award

Edward Kidder Graham, courtesy of The Morehead-Cain Foundation.

When presented:  University Day each year (October 12)

How many:  One

Process: The recipient is recommended by the Committee on Honorary Degrees and Special Awards upon nomination of any member of the General Faculty. The committee’s recommendation is approved by the Faculty Council.

Establishing documentFaculty Council Resolution 2010-2

Criteria:  The Edward Kidder Graham Faculty Service Award was established in 2010 to recognize outstanding service by a member of the Voting Faculty of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. The award calls to remembrance President Graham’s ambition “to make the campus co‐extensive with the boundaries of the State,” in the context of the University’s modern mission to extend knowledge‐based service world‐wide.

Eligibility:  Any active member of the Voting Faculty is eligible, including those who are participating in the phased-retirement program. Awards are not conferred in absentia.

You may read more about the life of Edward Kidder Graham here.

Submit a nomination

Please note that nominations remain active for three years. If you have nominated anyone within the previous two years, renomination is not required; however, additional or updated materials may be submitted.

Please visit the “Submit Nominations” page at the left for instructions on how to submit your nomination. Nominations for the 2024 Edward Kidder Graham Faculty Service Award will be accepted August 28 to November 7, 2023 (extended from October 31).

Previous recipients, 2011-present

2023David J. Weber, Charles Addison and Elizabeth Ann Sanders Distinguished Professor of Medicine and Pediatrics; Professor of Epidemiology
2022Frayda S. Bluestein, David M. Lawrence Distinguished Professor of Public Law and Government
2021K. Elizabeth Moracco, Associate Professor of Health Behavior
2020Nicholas Didow Jr, Associate Professor of Marketing
2019Giselle Corbie-Smith, Kenan Distinguished Professor of Social Medicine
2018Bland Simpson, Kenan Distinguished Professor of English and Creative Writing
2017Nancy Allbritton, Chair of UNC/NC State Joint Department of Biomedical Engineering; Kenan Distinguished Professor of Biomedical Engineering and Chemistry
2016Mimi V. Chapman, Professor of Social Work; Eugenia Eng, Professor of Health Behavior
2015Peter White, Professor of Biology; Director, UNC Botanical Garden, 1986-2014
2014Krista M. Perreira, Professor of Public Policy; Associate Dean for Undergraduate Research
2013Bruce Cairns, Director, North Carolina Jaycee Burn Center; John Stackhouse Distinguished Professor of Surgery and Professor of Microbiology/Immunology
2012Ferrel Guillory, Professor of the Practice of Journalism and Director, Program on Public Life
2011David W. Owens, Gladys Hall Coates Professor of Public Law and Government


Print Friendly, PDF & Email