Skip to main content


On behalf of the Honorary Degrees and Special Awards Committee, I invite you to nominate a faculty colleague for the Edward Kidder Graham Faculty Service Award.

This award recognizes a current member of the voting faculty who has succeeded in realizing President Graham’s ambition “to make the campus co-extensive with the boundaries of the State,” in the context of the University’s modern mission to extend knowledge-based service worldwide. It is the only University-wide award given to faculty by faculty.

Full information about this award, including a list of past recipients and a link to the online nomination form can be found on the page for this award on this website.

The deadline for nominations for 2023 is Monday, December 5, 2022.

This message is also an opportunity to congratulate this year’s Edward Kidder Graham Faculty Service Award recipient, Professor Frayda Bluestein from the School of Government. She is pictured on University Day with Chair of the Faculty Mimi Chapman, who received the Graham Award in 2016.

I encourage you to take a few minutes to consider a colleague who is deserving of this kind of recognition and to submit a nomination. If you have questions, please contact the Office of Faculty Governance at


Amelia F. Drake, MD
Chair of the Committee on Honorary Degrees and Special Awards
Newton D. Fischer Distinguished Professor of Otolaryngology/Head and Neck Surgery

Photo credit: Jon Gardiner/UNC-Chapel Hill

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Comments are closed.