Skip to main content

Dear Colleagues,

The Office of Faculty Governance, on behalf of the Committee on Honorary Degrees and Special Awards, is now accepting nominations for the University’s 2018 Thomas Jefferson Award.

This award, established in 1961, is given annually to “that member of the academic community who through personal influence and performance of duty in teaching, writing, and scholarship has best exemplified the ideals and objectives of Thomas Jefferson.”  Any active member of the faculty is eligible, including those participating in the phased-retirement program.

Full information about the award (including criteria, eligibility, a list of past recipients, and directions for how to submit a nomination) is available here on the Faculty Governance website.

The deadline for nominations is March 27, 2018.  The award will be presented at a future Faculty Council meeting.


Steve W. Matson
Chair of the Committee on Honorary Degrees and Special Awards
Professor of Biology
Dean of The Graduate School

Pictured above: 2017 Thomas Jefferson Award Winner Alice Ammerman accepts the award at Faculty Council and provides a humorous overview of the accomplishments of Thomas Jefferson. Photo courtesy of UNC Multimedia Library. 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Comments are closed.