Skip to main content

Faculty Governance News

vol. 3.15

April 23, 2009

From the UNC Office of Faculty Governance
200-204 Carr Building
UNC-CH Campus
Contact:  Anne M. Whisnant (

Coble elected Chair of the Faculty

McKay Coble, Professor of Design and Chair of the Department of Dramatic Art, was elected Chair of the Faculty in the annual faculty elections, which concluded Monday afternoon, April 20.  She will take office July 1st, succeeding current Chair Joe Templeton.  Nine hundred and twenty-five faculty members voted in the elections this year, up from 800 last year.  This represented a turnout rate of 26%.  Complete election results for Faculty Council seats and all other faculty committees will be announced Friday at the Faculty Council meeting and posted to the Faculty Governance website immediately afterward.

Faculty Council and General Faculty will meet Friday, April 24

The final Faculty Council meeting of the year will take place tomorrow (Friday, April 24) at 3 p.m. in the Multipurpose Room of the Sonja Haynes Stone Center for Black Culture and History.  This meeting is also a meeting of the General Faculty, which convenes with the Faculty Council once each semester.  All faculty members are invited to attend.

The packed agenda will include a presentation by representatives from Bain & Company about the study they are currently conducting of university operations.  Also on tap is discussion of a draft report from the Provost’s Task Force on Future Promotion and Tenure Policies and Practices, chaired by Prof. Jane Brown.  Other agenda items include annual reports of the Faculty Committee on Research and the Faculty Council Committee on Fixed-Term Faculty. 

The complete agenda, including links to all reports, is now online here.

Minutes for the March 20 meeting are now online here.

Faculty invited to participate in Commencement Weekend events, May 9-10; Inclement Weather Ticket must be obtained in advance

The schedule of events for Commencement Weekend 2009 has been set.

The Doctoral Hooding ceremony will be held May 9 at 10 a.m. in the Dean Smith Center. Dr. Adron Harris, professor at the University of Texas in Austin, will be the guest speaker. Non-hooding faculty members should assemble in the Press Room at the Smith by 9:30 a.m., for the processional.

University Commencement will be held May 10 at 9:30 a.m. in Kenan Stadium. This year’s speaker is Archbishop Emeritus Desmond M. Tutu, winner of the Nobel Peace Prize and renowned South African anti-apartheid campaigner.  Faculty are asked to gather at the old Kenan Field House at 9 a.m. Faculty Marshal Trudier Harris will lead the faculty processional.  Parking will be available in the Craige Deck.  New this year is the need to obtain, in advance, an Inclement Weather Ticket to admit you to the Smith Center in the event of rain.  Contact David Thompson in the Faculty Governance Office to request your ticket.  He can be reached at or at 962-2147.

State funds spending freeze now in place

Updated Emergency Budget Guidelines for the University were announced Tuesday, April 21. The new guidelines elaborate tight restrictions on the expenditure of state funds in four areas: personnel expenses; travel expenses; other non-personnel expenses; and capital expenses.  With regard to “other non-personnel expenses,” for example, the guidelines prescribe that “departments are not allowed to pay for office supplies (e.g. legal pads, pens/pencils, paper clips), cleaning supplies or similar supply type items from state funds unless the entire campus is completely out of supplies.”  Click here to read the complete guidelines.

Faculty Governance Reading Room

Articles, books, or other resources of interest to faculty. This week’s selection:

About Faculty Governance News

The Faculty Governance News is published every two weeks throughout the academic year by the Office of Faculty Governance.  Archived issues and the publication schedule for 2008-09 are available online here.  Information to be considered for inclusion should be sent to Anne Whisnant ( by Monday before an issue is scheduled to appear.

For more information on any of these items, please contact Anne Whisnant in the Office of Faculty Governance.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email