Resolution 2024-4. Amending *The Faculty Code of University Government* to increase the number of members on the Committee on Honorary Degrees and Special Awards.

The General Faculty enacts:

Section 4-11 of *The Faculty Code of University Government* is amended as follows:

§ 4-11. Honorary Degrees and Special Awards Committee. (a) The Honorary Degrees and Special Awards Committee consists of six seven members elected by the voting faculty. The secretary of the faculty is a member of the committee ex officio.

(b) The committee considers nominations from the faculty for (1) Honorary Degrees, awarded at Commencement each May; (2) Distinguished Alumnus and Alumna Awards, presented each University Day, 12 October; (3) the Thomas Jefferson Award; (4) the O. Max Gardner Award; and (5) other awards referred to the committee by the chancellor or the chair of the faculty. Nominees for Honorary Degrees and Distinguished Alumnus and Alumna Awards are recommended for approval to the Faculty Council and the Board of Trustees. The chancellor presents the nominee for the Gardner Award to the Board of Governors.

Submitted by the Committee on University Government

Justification

The proposed amendment would increase the elected membership of the faculty Committee on Honorary Degrees and Special Awards from six members to seven members, to increase the proportion of members eligible to participate in the event of one or more members' recusal and to provide for an odd number of elected members.