Resolution 2024-1. On Appreciation for the Service of Kevin M. Guskiewicz, Chancellor of The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Whereas Kevin M. Guskiewicz has served faithfully as the twelfth chancellor of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, our nation's oldest public university;

Whereas for nearly three decades he has been a treasured member of our campus community, as a highly respected scholar and colleague, an energetic and respected campus leader, and a true public servant who took to heart our university's responsibility to serve the people of North Carolina;

Whereas he has navigated exceptional challenges with grace and equanimity, including the worst pandemic in a century and multiple tragedies on our campus;

Whereas under his leadership the University experienced great successes, including the expansion of its research enterprise, the implementation of a new undergraduate curriculum, a historically successful fundraising campaign, renewed engagement with citizens throughout the State through initiatives such as Carolina Across 100, and continued devotion to ensuring that Carolina remains affordable to North Carolina families;

Whereas he has consistently advocated for a vibrant and inclusive Carolina community, in keeping with the first pillar of our university's strategic plan, which he collaboratively developed early in his tenure as chancellor;

Whereas he has supported and contributed to the faculty's role in shared governance throughout his career, from serving as a member of the Faculty Executive Committee as a faculty member, to faithfully attending meetings of the Faculty Council, the Advisory Committee, and the Faculty Athletics Committee during his term as chancellor;

Whereas his love for Carolina and passionate devotion to our public mission has inspired us all;

Now therefore, be it resolved that the faculty of The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill expresses its gratitude and admiration for his exemplary service to our university and to the State of North Carolina.

Submitted and approved by the Faculty Executive Committee on January 8, 2024