Resolution 2023-4. On Appreciation for the Service of Mimi Chapman, Chair of the Faculty at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Whereas Professor Mimi V. Chapman has been a uniquely courageous faculty chair during difficult and unprecedented challenges for the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill faculty as well as public higher education in North Carolina and nationally;

Whereas, as our elected leader, the faculty chair engages in ongoing conversations with administrators, trustees, and others whose roles within the University may differ in fundamental ways from those of the faculty. She has been a consistent pillar for transparency and fairness in representing and advocating for faculty to internal and external constituents about the achievements and day-to-day work of faculty and the University community as a whole;

Whereas she has consistently listened to and spoken with, for, and about us as our faculty chair. As our representative, she has defined and fulfilled her role as faculty chair with remarkable commitment, composure, and resilience in challenging circumstances;

Whereas her embrace of Carolina's community extends to students, staff, faculty, and alumni across the University and across titles and rank. She has been a dedicated ally and supporter of student leaders on campus, collaborating with them for the greater good of our campus community. She has worked tirelessly and bravely to communicate the value and merits of faculty and staff contributions that support and improve the community, state, nation, and world;

Whereas she has been a clear voice of reason in defending the rigorous process of tenure and promotion when its validity has been questioned and challenged, particularly regarding the appointment of Nikole Hannah-Jones;

Therefore be it resolved that the Faculty of The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill celebrates, thanks, and commends Chair of the Faculty Mimi Chapman for her courage, thoughtfulness, resolve, honesty, clarity, and steadfast commitment to the shared principles and values of the faculty at this university.

Submitted by Prof. Sue Estroff and the Faculty Executive Committee.