

THE UNIVERSITY of NORTH CAROLINA at CHAPEL HILL

VAN HECKE-WETTACH HALL T 919.962.5106 CAMPUS BOX 3380 CHAPEL HILL. NC 27500-3380

F 919.962.1277 www.law.unc.edu

January 4, 2023

Faculty Council The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

RE: Annual Report of the Committee on Appointments, Promotions and Tenure

Dear Members of the Faculty Council:

The Committee on Appointments, Promotions and Tenure (APT Committee) "is advisory to the provost in any faculty personnel matter deemed important by the provost or the committee" and specifically with respect to:

- appointments, reappointments, and promotions that confer permanent tenure;
- promotions to a higher rank of persons holding permanent tenure at the rank of associate professor or assistant professor;
- appointments to distinguished professorships that are not restricted by the terms of the endowment to a particular school or department; and
- review of school and departmental APT policies.

The 2022 APT Annual Report to the Faculty Council attached includes a table summarizing the Committee's decisions from January to December 2022 and the Committee's membership rosters. The APT Committee carried out its work through monthly meetings and subcommittee assignments between meetings. The Committee was chaired by Stuart Gold through June 2022 and by Joan Krause from July 2022 through the present. The Committee reported its recommendations each month to the Provost. In addition, the Committee Chair, when necessary, communicated to unit Chairs and Deans regarding dossiers, policies, and suggestions from the Committee.

As shown in the attached table, 169 dossiers representing 158 candidates required a vote by the APT Committee in 2022; this includes eleven dossiers that were returned to their respective units for additional information and resubmitted to the Committee. Promotion was approved for all dossiers; none were not approved, none were withdrawn, and none were returned for reconsideration in 2022.

I am happy to discuss any aspect of the APT Committee's work.

Sincerely,

Professor Joan H. Krause

Joan H. Krause

Chair, APT Committee

Dan K. Moore Distinguished Professor of Law, UNC School of Law

Annual APT Committee Report: 2022 Monthly Meeting Outcomes								
Month	Number of Dossiers - Vote Required	Number of Dossiers Approved	Number of Dossiers Not Approved	Number of Dossiers Returned for More Information	Unable to meet a quorum			
January 12, 2022	5	5	0	0	0			
February 9, 2022	16	15	0	1	0			
March 9, 2022	39	36	0	3	0			
April 6, 2022	20	18	0	2	0			
May 4, 2022	23	23	0	0	0			
June 8, 2022	9	9	0	0	0			
July 13, 2022	18	17	0	1	0			
August 10, 2022	7	7	0	0	0			
September 7, 2022	8	7	0	1	0			
October 12, 2022	10	7	0	3	0			
November 9, 2022	7	7	0	0	0			
December 14, 2022	7	7	0	0	0			
Totals	169	158	0	11	0			

SPRING 2022 APT COMMITTEE								
APT CHAIR: STUART GOLD								
Last Name	First Name	Email	Office Phone Number	Base/Dept	Term Year Ends			
Beck	Melinda	melinda_beck@unc.edu	(919) 966-6809	Nutrition	2022			
Berkowitz	Lee	lee_berkowitz@med.unc.edu	(919) 843-8075	Medicine	2023			
Crews	Stephen	steve_crews@unc.edu	(919) 423-8236	Biochemistry and Biophysics	2022			
Gold	Stuart	stuart_gold@med.unc.edu	(919) 966-0985	Peds-Hem/Onc	2023			
Hughes-Hassell	Sandra	smhughes@email.unc.edu	(919) 667-5483	SILS	2022			
lovino	Serenella	serenella.iovino@unc.edu	(919) 962-2062	Romance	2023			
Krause	Joan	jhkrause@email.unc.edu	(919) 962-4126	Law	2024			
Noar	Seth	noar@email.unc.edu	(919) 962-4075	Media & Journalism	2023			
Pfennig	Karin	kpfennig@email.unc.edu	(919) 843-5590	Biology	2024			
Sherman	Daniel	dsherman@email.unc.edu	(919) 962-2015	Art & Art History	2024 (on leave Spring 2022			
Taylor	Beverly	btaylor@email.unc.edu	(919) 962-4039	English	2022			
Walker	Rebecca	rebecca walker@med.unc.edu	(919) 843-6896	Social Medicine	2024			
Battaglini	Claudio	claudio@email.unc.edu	(919) 843-6045	Exercise and Sports Science	Alternate for Sherman (Spring 2022)			

FALL 2022 APT COMMITTEE								
APT CHAIR: JOAN KRAUSE								
First Name	Last Name	Email	Office Phone Number	Base/Dept	Term Year Ends			
Lee	Berkowitz	lee_berkowitz@med.unc.edu	(919) 843-8075	Medicine	2023			
Eileen	Burker	eburker@med.unc.edu	(919) 966-9125	& Mental Health Counselling	2025			
Leisha	DeHart-Davis	ldehart@sog.unc.edu	(919) 966-4189	Government	2025			
Thurston "Thad"	Domina	tdomina@unc.edu	(919) 962-9197	Education	2025			
Stuart	Gold	stuart_gold@med.unc.edu	(919) 966-0985	Peds-Hem/Onc	2023			
Serenella	Iovino	serenella.iovino@unc.edu	(919) 962-2062	Romance	2023			
Joan	Krause	jhkrause@email.unc.edu	(919) 962-4126	Law	2024			
Seth	Noar	noar@email.unc.edu	(919) 962-4075	Media & Journalism	2023			
Karin	Pfennig	kpfennig@email.unc.edu	(919) 843-5590	Biology	2024			
Daniel	Sherman	dsherman@email.unc.edu	(919) 962-2015	Art & Art History	2024			
Rebecca	Walker	rebecca walker@med.unc.edu	(919) 843-6896	Social Medicine	2024 (on leave Fall 2022)			
Serhan	Ziya	<u>ziya@unc.edu</u>	(919) 843-6022	STOR	2025			
Thomas	Kash	thomas_kash@med.unc.edu	(919) 966-7116	Pharmacology	Alternate for Walker (Fall 2022)			