## Resolution 2021-10. On Appreciation for the Service of Robert A. Blouin, Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Whereas, when appointed Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost in 2017, Robert "Bob" Blouin brought experience, strategic vision, and commitment to operational excellence as Dean of the Eshelman School of Pharmacy for almost 14 years, where under his leadership, the school became ranked first in the nation:

Whereas he faithfully executed the job of Provost, which is one of the most demanding at the University, involving more than 24 direct reports, including three Vice Chancellors, seven Vice Provosts, and the 15 Deans across the campus;

Whereas he worked effectively with the Chancellor and many other collaborators to create a new strategic plan to make concrete the University's vision and aspirational goals, *Carolina Next: Innovations for Public Good*;

Whereas he initiated and oversaw the Data Science Initiative with the goal of unifying efforts across the campus in statistics and biostatistics, applied mathematics, computer science, information science, social science, behavioral science, and humanities to further strengthen this university's sprit of collaboration and to put Carolina at the forefront nationwide;

Whereas he launched the Operational Excellence Initiative, which is successfully streamlining and increasing the efficiency of administrative operations across the campus;

Whereas his tenure spanned one of the most challenging times in the University's history, during which he faced major challenges on many fronts and worked diligently to find meaningful, data-informed solutions, including leading the transition of the University to remote work and learning in response to the COVID-19 pandemic in March 2020 and the transition back to inperson work and learning in August 2021;

Now, therefore, we the Faculty of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill resolve to honor, recognize and celebrate the many accomplishments of Bob Blouin and welcome him to the fulltime faculty in his role as the Vaughn and Nancy Bryson Distinguished Professor in the Eshelman School of Pharmacy.

Submitted by Prof. Barbara Entwisle