Faculty Grievance Committee Annual Report to the Faculty Council on 12/03/2021 Academic Year 2021-22

Committee chairs: Juan Álamo and Beth Posner

Members, 2021-2022 (including school, faculty category and year that current term expires):

Juan Álamo (Arts and Sciences, Associate Professors/Librarians, 2022)

Kim Boggess (Medicine, Full Professors/Librarians, 2024)

Barbara Friedman (Journalism and Media, Associate Professors/Librarians, 2024)

Karon Johnson (Social Work, Fixed-term faculty, 2024)

Rainier Masa (Social Work, Assistant Professors/Librarians, 2023)

Suchi Mohanty (Libraries, Full Professors/Librarians, 2023)

Anthony Passannante (Medicine, Full Professors/Librarians, 2022)

Beth Posner (Law, Fixed-Term Faculty, 2022)

Cynthia Fraga Rizo (Social Work, Assistant Professors/Librarians, 2024)

Yuliana Rodriguez-Vongsavanh (Education, Fixed-Term Faculty, 2023)

Laura Ruel (Journalism and Media, Associate Professors/Librarians, 2023)

Jessica Tanner (Arts and Sciences, Assistant Professors/Librarians, 2022)

Committee Charge:

The Faculty Grievance Committee (FGC) is authorized to hear and advise on all grievances raised by members of the faculty aside from grievances concerning tenure decisions and issues relating to the termination of employment, which are under the jurisdiction of the Faculty Hearings Committee. The FGC also hears appeals of complaints filed by members of the faculty with the University's Equal Opportunity and Compliance Office (EOC).

Actions:

The FGC has had another quiet year. Since February 2020, the committee has not reviewed any formal grievances.

The FGC continues consider procedures to better reflect University policies and rules. The goal is to work with faculty committees as appropriate in order to move forward.