## **Resolution 2021-7. On Appreciation for Vincas P. Steponaitis's Service as Secretary of the Faculty, 2016-2021**

We the Faculty Council approve the following resolution in honor of Professor Vincas P. Steponaitis on the occasion of the completion of his term as Secretary of the Faculty:

Whereas this is the first resolution in five years that he will not have reviewed and certified for procedural and parliamentary propriety, a daunting task we undertake only with the inspiration of his example;

Whereas he has been a faithful servant and embodied the spirit and values of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill since arriving on campus in 1988;

Whereas he has been an intellectual leader at the University in the fields of Archaeology and Anthropology, serving over the years as Professor, Research Laboratory Director, and Curriculum Chair, and currently holding the William E. Leuchtenberg Distinguished Professorship;

Whereas he has had a record of service to the University matched by few in its history, including, to mention only his current commitments, membership on the Chancellor's Advisory Committee, the Faculty Executive Committee, the Faculty Council and its Agenda Committee, the Committee on University Government, the Honorary Degrees and Special Awards Committee, the Faculty Nominating Committee, and the Commencement Committee;

Whereas, to list the administrative boards, advisory boards, steering committees, search committees, and review committees at the University on which he has previously served would violate Robert's Rules due to Excessive Length;

Whereas, also since 2016, he has carried out the duties of the Secretary of the Faculty with constant thoughtfulness, mastery, creativity and energy in difficult circumstances requiring far more than usual of each, particularly the challenge of transitioning the operations of faculty governance to an all-online format due to the coronavirus pandemic;

Therefore, be it resolved that the faculty of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill honors and expresses its gratitude for his outstanding and tireless service as Secretary of the Faculty.