## The Annual Report of the Advisory Committee to the Chancellor

Presented to the Faculty Council on January 15, 2021

#### **Advisory Committee Membership**

July, 2020 - present:

Elected Members with Terms Expiring in 2021:

David Gerber (Medicine)

Thomas Kelley (Law)

Wanda Nicholson (Medicine)

Elected Members with Terms Expiring in 2022:

Keisha Gibson (Medicine)

Winifred Metz (University Library)

Rohit Ramaswamy (Public Health)

Elected Members with Terms Expiring in 2023:

Jay Aikat (Computer Science)

Suzanne Gulledge (Education)

Kenya McNeal Trice (Medicine)

Ex Officio Members:

Mimi Chapman (Chair of the Faculty)

Karin Pfennig (APT Chair)

Vincas Steponaitis (Secretary of the Faculty)

### June, 2019 – July, 2020

Keisha Gibson (Medicine) Suzanne Gulledge (Education), Chair Jim Hirschfield (Art) Mark Katz (Music) Malinda Maynor-Lowery (History) Laurie McNeil (Physics and Astronomy) Winifred Metz (University Library) Rohit Ramaswamy (Public Health)

Ariana Vigil (Women's and Gender Studies)

Ex Officio Members:

Stephen Crews (APT Chair)

Lloyd Kramer (Chair of the Faculty)

Vincas Steponaitis (Secretary of the Faculty)

# Advisory Committee Description and Charge from the Faculty Code (§ 4-5) as Amended by Faculty Council April 14, 2020:

The Advisory Committee consists of nine elected members, the chair of the faculty, the secretary of the faculty, and the chair of the Committee on Appointments, Promotions, and Tenure. The committee is advisory to the chancellor in any matter deemed important by the chancellor or the committee, and particularly with respect to: trustee policies and procedures; academic policies and programs; appointment of vice chancellors, deans, and other senior administrators; recommendations for corrective action pursuant to a report of the Faculty Hearing Committee or Faculty Grievance Committee; and appointment and renewal of appointment of the faculty marshal and appointment and review of the faculty athletics representative. The committee nominates candidates for election as stipulated in the Faculty Code for chair of the Faculty and Secretary of the Faculty and advises the chancellor on the appointment and renewal of the Faculty Marshal and the Faculty Athletics Representative. These responsibilities are described in Sections 3:1-5 of the Code.

No faculty member may serve simultaneously as an elected member of the Advisory Committee and the Faculty Executive Committee; the Committee on Appointments, Promotions, and Tenure; the Faculty Hearings Committee; or the Faculty Grievance Committee. The secretary of the faculty serves as secretary of the committee.

The committee holds regular meetings once each month, at such time and place as fixed by the committee and the chancellor. The presiding officer is the chancellor, or, in the chancellor's absence, the chair of the Advisory Committee. Special meetings may be called by the chancellor or the chair of the Advisory Committee. Notice of a special meeting called by the chair is given to the chancellor. Whoever calls the special meeting presides.

## Meetings of the Advisory Committee July 2020 to present:

4/28/2020, 5/27/2020,6/24/2020, 8/17/2020, 9/17/2020, 10/14/2020, 11/11/2020, 12/9/2020. Meeting scheduled to end of current academic year: 1/21/2021, 2/18/2021, 3/25/2021, 4/22/2021. Regular monthly meetings of the Advisory Committee are generally scheduled for the Wednesday or Thursday afternoon following the monthly meeting of Faculty Council.

### Activities and Key Actions Spring 2020 – January 2021:

The Faculty Code section 4-5 relevant to the Advisory Committee was revised in April 2020, by recommendation of the Committee on Faculty Government and vote of the Faculty Council.

Elected to the Advisory Committee during the 2020 general faculty election were: Jay Aikat, Kenya McNeal Trice, and Suzanne Gulledge, who was elected by the Committee to serve as Chair. Unexpired terms of Advisory Committee members Jim Hirschfield, Malinda Maynor Lowery and Ariana Vigil were filled by faculty members David Gerber, Tom Kelley, and Wanda Nicholson.

As charged in the *Faculty Code*, the Advisory Committee sought, received and reviewed nominees for the position of Chair of the Faculty and submitted the names of two candidates to

run for the office of Chair of the Faculty in the 2020 Faculty Election: Mimi Chapman and Joy Renner.

In the spring semester, 2020, when concerns about the pandemic caused a move to remote instruction, the Advisory Committee conducted its business through Zoom meetings, beginning in March.

In the fall the Advisory Committee began the process of identifying a candidate for Secretary of the Faculty whose name is to be presented to the Faculty Council in advance of the completion of the Secretary's term of office. The Faculty Council elects the Secretary of the Faculty for a three year term. Current Secretary, Vincas Steponaitis, announced that he would not seek the position for another term. Nominations have been solicited from the faculty and will be considered by the Committee in the spring semester 2021. The committee is charged to propose the name of a faculty member to the Faculty Council for election to the position of Secretary of the Faculty. The Advisory Committee devoted considerable time to draft and articulate a call through which to identify a diverse and representative pool of qualified, interested nominees from among the Carolina faculty.

The monthly Advisory Committee meetings included information sharing from both the Chancellor and the Advisory Committee, as well as requests for thoughts, feedback, questions, and considerations from both. The largest portion of meeting time has been devoted to hearing updates from the chancellor, responding to his requests for advice and sharing perspectives on key campus issues. Substantive amounts of time in Advisory Committee meetings were devoted to discussions with the Chancellor about campus safety and well-being of faculty, staff and students – especially in relation to the COVID 19 virus; racial justice and equity; the university budget; internal communication about decisions and initiatives; faculty, staff and student morale; and strategic planning for the future of Carolina.