## **Faculty Hearings Committee**

Annual Report
3 November 2020

Members 2020-21: Debashis Aikat (Journalism & Media, 2021)

Charlotte Boettiger (Psychology & Neuroscience, Arts & Sciences, 2022)

Jane Brice (Emergency Medicine, Medicine, 2022) Crystal Wiley Cené (Internal Medicine, Medicine, 2022)

Gary Cuddeback (Social Work, 2023)

Evelyne Huber (Political Science, Arts & Sciences, 2021) Elizabeth Mayer-Davis (Nutrition, Public Health, 2020) Carol Otey (Cell Biology & Physiology, Medicine, 2021)

Erika Wilson (Law, 2023)

**Report prepared by**: Gary Cuddeback, Committee Chair. This report covers the period from November 2019 through October 2020.

Committee Charge: According to *The Faculty Code of University Government*, the Faculty Hearings Committee is composed of nine faculty members with permanent tenure, serving three year terms. The Committee performs functions assigned to it in the *Trustee Policies and Regulations Governing Academic Tenure*. Those duties include conducting hearings (a) on the request of a faculty member who has been notified before the end of his or her tenure or term of appointment that the University intends to suspend, demote, or discharge the faculty member; and (b) on the request of a faculty member for review of a decision not to reappoint him or her upon expiration of a probationary term of appointment.

Continuing Matters before the Committee in 2019-20: None

New Matters Referred to the Committee in 2020-21 (as of 1 November 2020): None

Respectfully submitted,
Gary Cuddeback, chair (2020-21)