## Resolution 2019-3. On Amending the *Faculty Code of University Government* to Change the Composition of the Committee on Fixed-Term Faculty.

The General Faculty enacts:

Section 1. Section 4-14 of the Faculty Code of University Government is amended as follows.

## § 4-14. Committee on Fixed-Term Faculty

(a) The Committee on Fixed-Term Faculty consists of nine members of the voting faculty appointed by the chair of the faculty. Seven of the members are fixed-term, and two are tenured."

Section 2. In filling the seats created by this action, only for terms beginning in 2019, the chair of the faculty shall appoint one member to a three-year term, one member to a two-year term, and one member to a one-year term.

-----

Justification

Section 1 of this resolution would enlarge the Committee on Fixed-Term Faculty Committee in order to reflect the growth of fixed-term faculty at UNC-CH, and would ensure that the perspectives of tenured faculty are included.

Section 2 of this resolution staggers the terms of the members who fill the three new seats created in Section 1. It applies only to the initial appointments made in 2019. All subsequent appointments would be for the normal three-year terms.

The Committee on University Government recommends that this resolution be passed.