## Faculty Research Committee Report for 2016-2017

Presented at the 02/09/18 Faculty Council Meeting

Members: Stanley Ahalt (Computer Science), Gary Cuddeback (Social Work), Oswaldo Estrada (Arts & Sciences), Jose Martinez-Garcia (Medicine), Samantha Metzler-Brody (Medicine) Georges Nzongola-Ntalaja (Arts & Sciences), Krista Perreira (Arts & Sciences), Mamarame Seck (Arts & Sciences), Sheryl Zimmerman (Social Work)

<u>Background</u>: The Faculty Committee on Research consists of nine members appointed by the Chancellor. The Committee advises the Chancellor, other officers of administration, and the Faculty Council on matters of University policy and their implementation that have significant impact upon research.

<u>Mission</u>: The Committee's broad mission is to contribute to and support the research mission of the University. We are advisory to the Vice Chancellor for Research.

In the past, the committee focused on a number of agenda items of its own and provided feedback to the Vice Chancellor of Research on pressing issues related to research at the University. Prior suggestions over the past several years have included instituting bridge funding for faculty between grants, creating in-house sabbaticals to foster interdisciplinary exchange, and proposing mechanisms to formalize in-house grant panels.

During the 2016-2017 academic year, the committee served as an advisory panel for the Vice Chancellor for Research.