2016-2017 Community and Diversity Committee Annual Report April 21, 2017

Membership: Rumay Alexander (term expires 2018), Kia Caldwell (term expires 2017), Leisha De-Hart Davis (term expires 2018), Sherick Hughes (term expires 2018), Karli Krasnipol (student appointee, term expires 2017), Estefane Santiago-Lopez (student appointee, term expires 2017), Lauren Townsend (graduate appointee, 2017), Carla White (term expires 2017) and Gar Yeung (graduate appointee, term expires 2017)

Non-voting consultants: Bruce Cairns (Chair of the Faculty), Larry Chavis (liaison from the Faculty Welfare Committee), Marcus Collins (Student Success and Academic Counseling), Clare Counihan (Carolina Women's Center), Elizabeth Dickinson (liaison from the Committee on the Status of Women), Nancy Fisher (liaison from the Committee on Fixed-Term Faculty), Amy Hertel (American Indian Center), Timothy Ives (liaison from the Faculty Welfare Committee), Rudy Jones (Equal Opportunity/ADA Office), Joseph Jordan (Sonja Haynes Stone Center for Black Culture and History), Josmell Perez (Diversity and Multicultural Affairs), Terri Phoenix (LGBTQ Center), Patricia Pukkila (retired faculty liaison from Retired Faculty Association and Faculty Council, Margot Stein (liaison from Committee on the Status of Women) and Felicia Washington (Workforce Strategy, Equity and Engagement)

Meeting schedule: August 1, 2016; September 7, 2016; October 18, 2016; November 30, 2016; January 30, 2017 (Joint committee meeting with Faculty Welfare Committee, Committee on the Status of Women, and the Committee on Fixed-Term Faculty); January 31, 2017; February 28, 2017; April 4, 2017

Charge from The Faculty Code of University Government

§ 4-18. COMMITTEE ON COMMUNITY AND DIVERSITY

- (a) The Committee on Community and Diversity consists of five faculty members and two students appointed by the chair of the faculty.
- (b) The committee is responsible for fostering community and promoting pluralism in the University by encouraging social interaction, mutual acceptance, and respect among various groups on campus. The committee is especially attentive to matters generated by discrimination on the basis of age, race, gender, disability, religion, socio-economic status, national or ethnic origin, or sexual orientation.

Long-term goals: The goal of this committee's work is to yield long-term positive change in the UNC environment for all faculty, to improve the climate at UNC for minority faculty and all faculty with regard to matters of race and ethnicity, and ultimately to achieve long-standing and sustainable increases in overall numbers of underrepresented minority faculty in order to realize the benefits of diversity in education.

Short-term goals: The major initiative of the committee has been to plan thematic discussions of issues related to race/ethnicity in academia, inclusive excellence, and faculty diversity at each of the Faculty Council meetings during the year. This work included planning discussions, assigning readings to give Council members, organizing possible panel discussions, and inviting guests to Faculty Council in consultation with the Chair of the Faculty and the Agenda Committee. The committee is in its second year of planning diversity programming for the Faculty Council meetings.

2016-17 activities

The committee planned the following programs/speakers for the Faculty Council in 2016-17:

- "Lactation: New Rooms and Resources" presented by Dr. Clare Counihan, Carolina Women's Center program coordinator for faculty and staff, on September 16, 2016 (https://facultygov.unc.edu/files/2016/09/Faculty-Council_Lactation_Sept-2016-1-1.pdf)
- "Inclusive Classrooms" presented by Professors Viji Sathy (Psychology) and Kelly Hogan (Biology) on October 7, 2016 (https://facultygov.unc.edu/files/2016/10/InclusiveClassroomsPP.pdf)
- "Women and Minorities in STEM from Pipeline to Retention," a panel discussion featuring Professor Susan Girdler, professor of psychiatry and psychology and president of the Association of Professional Women in Medical Sciences; Professor Kevin Jeffay, Gillian T. Cell distinguished professor of computer science and chair of the Department of Computer Science; Professor Sheila Kannappan, associate professor and associate chair for diversity in the Department of Physics and Astronomy; Professor Mike Crimmins, executive director of the Chancellor's Science Scholars; and Layla Dowdy, director of communications in the Office of UNC Research (Women in STEM project lead) on November 18, 2016
- "The Diversity Imperative from a Dean's Perspective" presented by Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences Kevin Guskiewicz on January 27, 2017 (https://facultygov.unc.edu/files/2017/01/College-Diversity-Presentation-Jan-2017-Faculty-Council-FINAL.pdf)
- "Navigating Uncertainty: Today's Climate and its Impact," a panel discussion featuring
 Dr. Gloria Thomas, director of the Carolina Women's Center; Professor Michael
 Gerhardt, Samuel Ashe distinguished professor in constitutional law; and Dr. Terri
 Phoenix, director LGBTQ Center on February 24, 2017
 (https://facultygov.unc.edu/faculty-council/meeting-materials-2016-17/february-24-2017/)

The committee also participated in a joint meeting with the Committee on the Status of Women, the Committee on Fixed-Term Faculty and the Faculty Welfare Committee. The committees heard a presentation on COACHE survey data results for tenured, tenure-track

and fixed-term faculty by Dr. Ron Strauss, executive vice provost and chief international officer. They also participated in a discussion about the impact of President Trump's Executive Order on immigration on campus climate and concerns about Carolina students who are affected by challenges to the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) Act.

Drafted by Katie Turner, faculty program specialist

Respectfully submitted,

Professor Rumay Alexander Chair, Community and Diversity Committee