**Members:** Alice Ammerman (Nutrition); Kia Caldwell (African, African-American and Diaspora Studies); Aysenil Belber (Medicine); Tamar Birckhead (Law, 2016 Co- Chair, on leave); Mimi Chapman (Social Work, Co-Chair); Diane Juffras (School of Government);Tom Kelley (Law); James Rives (Classics, 2017); Brent Wissick (Music), Debashisis Aikat (School of Journalism).

Report prepared by: Mimi Chapman, Co-Chair

## Committee Charge According to the Faculty Code of University Government:

The Faculty Hearings Committee is composed of nine faculty members (as of the 2014-15 academic year; previously six) with permanent tenure, serving three-year terms. The committee performs functions assigned to it in the Trustee Policies and Regulations Governing Academic Tenure. Those duties include conducting hearings (a) on the request of a faculty member who has been notified before the end of his or her tenure or term of appointment that the University intends to discharge or impose serious sanctions on him or her; and (b) on the request of a faculty member for review of a decision not to reappoint him or her upon expiration of a probationary term of appointment.

**Matters Referred to the Committee in 2015/2016:** Since May of 2016, two faculty members have requested hearings following receipt of notice of intent to discharge. One received a full hearing in the Fall of 2016. One withdrew the request within a few weeks of the hearing starting in the Fall of 2016.