## **Resolution 2016-3. On Amending the Faculty Code of University Government to Enlarge the Faculty Grievance Committee.**

The General Faculty enacts that:

**Section 1.** The Faculty Code of University Government is amended as follows (deletions are crossed out, additions are underlined):

§ 4-8. FACULTY GRIEVANCE COMMITTEE

(a) The Faculty Grievance Committee consists of ten <u>twelve</u> elected members, and is structured to represent faculty of all ranks. Three of the members are elected at the time they hold the rank of professor or librarian, three at the time they hold the rank of associate professor or associate librarian, three at the time they hold the rank of assistant professor or assistant librarian or general librarian, and <u>one three</u> at the time <u>he or she holds they hold</u> a fixed-term appointment. A member's promotion in rank during a term of office does not terminate his or her membership. One professor or assistant librarian or general librarian professor or associate professor or associate professor or holding a fixed-term appointment are elected each year. One person holding a fixed-term appointment is elected every third year.

**Section 2.** In the election conducted in 2016, two additional members holding fixed-term appointments shall be elected to the Faculty Grievance Committee. The fixed-term member with the highest number of votes shall serve a three-year term, and the fixed-term member with the next highest number of votes shall serve a one-year term.