Skip to main content

Nominations open for 2016 Thomas Jefferson Award

January 19, 2016

The faculty’s Committee on Honorary Degrees and Special Awards invites nominations for candidates for the 2016 Thomas Jefferson Award.   This award, established in 1961, is given annually to “that member of the academic community who through personal influence and performance of duty … Continued

Nominations for 2017 Honorary Degrees due February 1, 2016

January 8, 2016

The faculty’s Committee on Honorary Degrees and Special Awards invites your nominations for candidates for UNC honorary degrees to be awarded at the 2017 May Commencement ceremony. A maximum of five of these prestigious awards will be given to recognize individuals who … Continued

Advisory Committee seeks candidates for Secretary of the Faculty

January 4, 2016

The (Chancellor’s) Advisory Committee invites nominations (including self-nominations) for the position of Secretary of the Faculty, which will be open as of July 1, 2016, when current Secretary Joe Ferrell will step down. A position description and instructions for how to apply … Continued

Cairns resumes duties as Chair of the Faculty

December 10, 2015

As anticipated by the resolution passed at the September 30 Faculty Executive Committee meeting, Prof. Bruce Cairns resumed his duties as Chair of the Faculty as of December 1st. We in the Office of Faculty Governance are grateful to Prof. Peter … Continued

Faculty Council meets Friday, December 11

December 10, 2015

The Faculty Council will meet Friday, December 11, 2015 at 3:00 p.m. in 1001 Kerr Hall (Eshelman School of Pharmacy). Prof. Bruce Cairns will return to the podium this month to chair the meeting.  He resumed his duties as Chair of … Continued

December 2015 Commencement Information for Faculty

December 3, 2015

Carolina’s mid-year commencement ceremony will be held on Sunday, December 13, 2015 at 2:00 p.m. at the Dean E. Smith Center.  Faculty members are invited to join the processional, either with or without regalia. Participating faculty will assemble at 1:30 p.m. in … Continued