Skip to main content
UNC Chancellor Kevin M. Guskiewicz presents the the 2022 Thomas Jefferson Award to professor Geoff Sayre-McCord during the UNC Faculty Council meeting held in person and virtually on January 20, 2023. (Jon Gardiner/UNC-Chapel Hill)

The Office of Faculty Governance, on behalf of the Honorary Degrees and Special Awards Committee, is requesting nominations for the University’s 2023 Thomas Jefferson Award. This award is the highest recognition that the faculty can give to a UNC-CH faculty member. It will be presented at a 2023-24 Faculty Council meeting.

Established in 1961, the Thomas Jefferson Award is given annually to “that member of the academic community who through personal influence and performance of duty in teaching, writing, and scholarship has best exemplified the ideals and objectives of Thomas Jefferson,” whose complex legacy includes the values of democracy, public service, and the pursuit of knowledge. History Professor Lloyd Kramer provided some context about Jefferson in his remarks on the honor of receiving this award when presented with it in 2021.

Full information about this award, including criteria, eligibility, past winners, and a link to the simplified process for submitting a nomination online, is available here. If you have questions about the nomination process, please contact the Office of Faculty Governance at

The deadline for nominations is Monday, April 10, 2023.

Any active member of the faculty is eligible, including those participating in the phased-retirement program. We hope you will consider nominating a deserving colleague for this honor.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Comments are closed.