Skip to main content

The 2023 Faculty Election starts today, March 29. All members of the voting faculty will receive an individualized ballot via email from the Office of Faculty Governance. The election closes on April 12.

Please encourage your faculty colleagues to vote! The annual election is a way for faculty to influence policy on issues related to the University’s core research, teaching and service mission. Faculty Council and a variety of faculty committees that are vital to the advancement and support of faculty will be on the ballot, such as the Committee on Appointments, Promotions and Tenure; the Faculty Grievance Committee; and the Educational Policy Committee.

In addition, the next chair of the faculty will be elected this year. The candidates are Professor Thomas Kelley from the School of Law and Professor Beth Moracco from the Gillings School of Global Public Health. The chair of the faculty serves as chair pro tempore of the Faculty Council and of the General Faculty and represents the chancellor in all academic matters whenever requested. The chair also amplifies the voice of the faculty when collaborating with governing bodies of the University.

The Voter Guide includes information about the candidates including their service to the University and their candidate statement.

Results will be posted online shortly after the election concludes.

Please direct any questions to the Office of Faculty Governance at 919-962-2146 or

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Comments are closed.