Skip to main content


Dear Colleagues,

Today is University Day when we celebrate the founding of Carolina so many years ago. As is traditional, at today’s University Day ceremony, we will also celebrate several notable alumni who will be presented with a Distinguished Alumna or Alumnus Award.

Congratulations to this year’s alumni award recipients:

  • Nicole K. Bates, MPH (2000), DRPH (2008)
  • Jerry W. Blackwell, BA (1984), JD (1987)
  • F. Dubois Bowman, PhD (2000)
  • Karen L. Parker, AB (1965)
  • Charles H. Robbins, BS (1987)

I also want to acknowledge School of Government Professor Frayda Bluestein who will be presented with the 2022 Edward Kidder Graham Faculty Service Award this afternoon.

Many thank to past and present members of the Committee on Honorary Degrees and Special Awards for selecting these remarkable awardees and to the faculty who submitted nominations.

The University wouldn’t be able to confer these awards if faculty didn’t participate in the nomination process, which is why I am reminding you that nominations are now being accepted for Distinguished Alumna and Alumnus Awards to be presented at the 2023 University Day celebration. This year’s deadline for submitting nominations is Monday, October 31. [Please note the due date has been extended to November 7]

These awards recognize Carolina alumni who have made outstanding contributions to humanity in any walk of life. The awards committee seeks a broad and diverse pool of extraordinary candidates, including individuals from underrepresented groups and a variety of disciplines, from which to make its selections.

Full information about this award, including criteria, the names of past recipients and a link to the online submission form, is available at this link. Please direct any questions to the Office of Faculty Governance at or 919-962-2146.

I encourage you to take a moment to help us acknowledge one of our many accomplished and talented alums with a nomination.


Amelia F. Drake, MD
Chair of the Committee on Honorary Degrees and Special Awards
Newton D. Fischer Distinguished Professor of Otolaryngology/Head and Neck Surgery

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Comments are closed.