Skip to main content
2020 O. Max Gardner Award recipient Samantha Meltzer-Brody

The Office of Faculty Governance, on behalf of the Committee on Honorary Degrees and Special Awards, is now accepting nominations for the 2021 O. Max Gardner Award through November 30, 2020. Please note that the deadline has been extended.

The award, established in 1947 by the will of former North Carolina Governor O. Max Gardner, recognizes a member of the UNC System faculty “who, during the current scholastic year, has made the greatest contribution to the welfare of the human race.” Each System school nominates a candidate, and the winner is selected by the UNC Board of Governors. The Gardner award is the highest honor the System confers on faculty and is the only award for which faculty members across all of its campuses are eligible.

The 2020 O. Max Gardner Award recipient is Dr. Samantha Meltzer-Brody, the Assad Meymandi Distinguished Professor and department chair of psychiatry here at UNC-Chapel Hill. It is always an honor to have one of our Carolina colleagues recognized with this award.

Many of our colleagues are doing important work and are more than eligible for this recognition. Faculty are urged to consider nominating one; a brief letter of nomination is all that is required. Instructions for submitting a nomination are available on this Office of Faculty Governance webpage, which includes more information about the award and how to submit a nomination.

If you have questions about the award or the nomination process, please contact us at

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Comments are closed.