Skip to main content


April 8, 2019

Dear Faculty Colleagues,

The Advisory Committee met this afternoon to elect an interim Chair of the Faculty, following the process spelled out in § 3-5 of The Faculty Code of University Government.

Professor Lloyd Kramer

I am pleased to announce that Prof. Lloyd Kramer will serve in this role from May 8, 2019, when Prof. Leslie Parise steps down, until June 30, 2020, when he will be succeeded by the candidate who wins the next election a year from now.

A specialist in modern European history, Prof. Kramer came to UNC in 1986 and chaired the History Department from 2004 to 2013.  He also has long experience in faculty governance, having previously been elected to Faculty Council, the Faculty Executive Committee, and the Advisory Committee, to name just a few of his former roles.  He is currently Faculty Director of Carolina Public Humanities.

On behalf of the university community, let me express my gratitude to Prof. Kramer for his willingness to take up this new role, and to the Advisory Committee for acting so thoughtfully and quickly to ensure a smooth transition.

Yours truly,

Vin Steponaitis
Secretary of the Faculty
William E. Leuchtenburg Distinguished Professor
of Archaeology and Anthropology

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Comments are closed.