Skip to main content

Dear colleagues,

The Office of Faculty Governance, on behalf of the Committee on Honorary Degrees and Special Awards, is now accepting candidates for UNC honorary degrees to be awarded at the 2019 May Commencement ceremony.

A maximum of five of these prestigious awards will be given to recognize individuals who have rendered outstanding service to humanity in the world arena, in our nation, in the American South, or our State of North Carolina; people who have made outstanding contributions to knowledge in the world of scholarship; people whose talent and creativity in the world of the arts has enriched our lives; and people whose devotion to and support of our University merits our highest recognition.

It is important to note that members of the Board of Governors or staff of the University of North Carolina or any of its constituent institutions are not eligible. These persons become eligible two years after termination of such status. Awards are not conferred in absentia or posthumously.

The deadline for nominations this year is February 19, 2018

Full information about this award, including criteria, eligibility, and the process for submitting a nomination is available at


Steve W. Matson
Chair of the Committee on Honorary Degrees and Special Awards
Professor of Biology
Dean of The Graduate School

Pictured above: Honorary degree recipients Patricia D. Horoho, Fred N. Eshelman and Thomas Forrest Kelly prior to the May 14, 2017, Spring Commencement ceremony (Melanie Busbee/UNC-Chapel Hill).

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Comments are closed.