Skip to main content

To: UNC General Faculty
From: Chair of the Faculty Bruce Cairns & Faculty Marshal Terry Rhodes


Dear UNC Faculty Colleagues:

We write to remind you to join us for the joyous events of Commencement Weekend 2017 on Saturday, May 13 and Sunday, May 14.

Our students’ accomplishments are remarkable, and their friends and families value our roles as teachers, mentors and scholars. Commencement honors our collective commitment to learning and building a sense of community within our University. You’re invited to participate in both events wearing academic regalia, but you are welcome regardless.

Doctoral Hooding

The Doctoral Hooding ceremony will take place on Saturday, May 13, at 9:30 a.m. in the Dean E. Smith Center. During the ceremony, each graduate will be called to the stage to receive the doctoral hood from his or her advisor. The featured speaker is Carolina alumnus, Dr. Richard Lenski, John Hannah Distinguished Professor of Microbial Ecology at Michigan State University.

Non-hooding faculty members who wish to march in the academic processional should arrive at the Smith Center (Entrance D) no later than 9:00 a.m. and gather in the Press Room on the lower level (take elevators or stairs down to the first floor). Marshals will direct you to the line-up site. Parking will be available in all the lots around the Smith Center. Please RSVP to have your name added to the parking lists.

Commencement Ceremony

HonoraryDegreeWinnersUniversity Commencement will be held, rain or shine, on Sunday, May 14 at 9:00 a.m. in Kenan Memorial Stadium. If it rains during the ceremony, the ceremony may be shortened; in the event of dangerous severe weather, it will be delayed or cancelled. Faculty participating in the processional will receive a parking permit for the Bell Tower deck and gather on the second floor of the Kenan Football Center at 8:30 a.m. Faculty Marshal Terry Rhodes will lead the faculty processional.

This year’s Commencement speaker is Brooke Baldwin, CNN news anchor and 2001 UNC grad.  The ceremony will honor our graduating students and the following outstanding recipients of honorary degrees: Dr. Fred Eshelman, Thomas Forrest Kelly and Patricia Horoho.

Many of you have attended Commencement in the past, and we welcome you again. For those who have yet to participate in this venerable academic tradition, please join us. We look forward to seeing you there.  Please email LaTosha Smith, in the office of University Events if you plan to attend either ceremony by  Monday, April 17 at

More information about Commencement is available at


Sincerely yours,

Bruce A. Cairns
Chair of the Faculty

Terry Rhodes
Faculty Marshal

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Comments are closed.