Skip to main content

October 17, 2016

Dear colleagues,

In the spring of 2017 we will elect a new Chair of the Faculty to succeed current chair Bruce Cairns.  According to the Faculty Code of University Government, the Chancellor’s Advisory Committee serves as a nominating committee to identify at least two members of the faculty willing to stand for election to this important leadership position.

As Advisory Committee chair, I invite you to nominate yourself or a colleague to be considered as a candidate for Chair of the Faculty. The deadline to submit a nomination is midnight on November 6, 2016.

Click here to submit a nomination.

Any member of the Voting Faculty (as defined by Article 1 of the Faculty Code) is eligible to serve as Chair of the Faculty.  An ideal Chair has had enough unit- or campus-wide leadership or service experience to have a grasp on at least some of the big-picture policy issues that currently face the campus.  The Chair will serve a three-year term beginning July 1, 2017.

The position’s duties are found in Article 3 of the Faculty Code and involve serving as an ex officio member of many faculty standing committees, as an invited member of many ad hoc committees, and as chair pro tempore of the Faculty Council.  Units have negotiated accommodations with past chairs in light of the significant service commitment the position requires.  Past chairs are listed here.

At present, the Advisory Committee is simply trying to identify a strong and diverse pool of interested candidates. Nominating yourself or a colleague does not commit anyone to standing for election. The Advisory Committee will contact and solicit two candidates.

If you have questions about the Chair of the Faculty position, please call or email Vin Steponaitis in the Office of Faculty Governance at 962-7609 or

Sincerely yours,

Richard E. Myers II
Henry Brandis Distinguished Professor of Law
Chair, Chancellor’s Advisory Committee

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Comments are closed.