Skip to main content

The faculty’s Committee on Honorary Degrees and Special Awards invites nominations for candidates for the 2016 Thomas Jefferson Award.  

This award, established in 1961, is given annually to “that member of the academic community who through personal influence and performance of duty in teaching, writing, and scholarship has best exemplified the ideals and objectives of Thomas Jefferson.”  Any active member of the faculty is eligible, including those participating in the phased-retirement program.

Full information about the award (including criteria, eligibility, a list of past recipients, and directions for how to submit a nomination) is available here on the Faculty Governance website.

The deadline for nominations is March 21, 2016.   The award will be presented at the September, 2016 Faculty Council meeting.

The chair of the faculty Committee on Honorary Degrees and Special Awards this year is Prof. Steve Matson.  Please contact Prof. Matson or Dr. Anne Whisnant in the Office of Faculty Governance at 919-962-1671 or if you have questions about the award or the nomination process.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Comments are closed.