Skip to main content

The following message has been sent from Prof. Evelyne Huber, Chair of the Chancellor’s Advisory Committee, to the General Faculty:

As you may know, in the spring of 2014, we as the faculty will elect a new Chair of the Faculty to succeed current chair Jan Boxill.  According to the Faculty Code of University Government, the Chancellor’s Advisory Committee serves as a nominating committee to identify at least two members of the faculty willing to stand for election to this important leadership position.

As Advisory Committee chair, I invite you now to nominate yourself or a colleague to be considered as a candidate for Chair of the Faculty. 

Any member of the Voting Faculty (as defined by Article 1 of the Faculty Code) is eligible to serve as Chair of the Faculty.  An ideal Chair has had enough school- or campus-wide leadership or service experience to have a grasp on at least some of the big-picture policy issues that currently face the campus.  The Chair will serve a three-year term beginning July 1, 2014. 

The position’s duties are outlined in Article 3 of the Faculty Code and involve serving as an ex officio member of many faculty standing committees, as an invited member of many ad hoc committees, and as chair pro tempore of the Faculty Council.   Past chairs are listed here.

Our nomination survey form is linked below.  At present, the Advisory Committee is simply trying to identify a strong and diverse pool of qualified and interested candidates.  Answering this survey—and nominating yourself or a colleague—does not commit anyone to anything.  The Advisory Committee will sift through the nominations to contact and solicit two candidates.

Click here to submit a nomination.

The deadline to submit nominations is midnight on December 1, 2013.

If you have questions about the Chair of the Faculty position, please call or email Anne Whisnant in the Office of Faculty Governance at 962-1671 or

Sincerely yours,

Evelyne Huber
Morehead Alumni Professor of Political Science
Chair, Chancellor’s Advisory Committee

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Comments are closed.